Go Back   Hyperstar Imaging > Hyperstar Discussions > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2007, 06:12 AM
kartyal kartyal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
kartyal is on a distinguished road
Default Hyperstar with microfocuser?

Hello. Is it possible to use a microfocuser with Hyperstar by inserting it between the hyperstar lens and the CCD camera? Pros and cons? Thank you. Alan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2007, 08:13 PM
Kevin Kevin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 40
Kevin is on a distinguished road
Default

To my knowledge the answer is no, all focusing is done with the primary mirror. if you have a Feather touch micro focuser you can look into Starizona's Micro Touch focuser which will do all the focusing you will ever need and it will do it perfectly.
__________________
My CCD Imaging System:
Starizona C-8 Hyperstar 3 w/filter adapter
Celestron Nexstar 8 GPS
Orion Starshoot II CCD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2008, 10:49 AM
Scott Tucker's Avatar
Scott Tucker Scott Tucker is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 44
Scott Tucker is on a distinguished road
Default

The main problem with a focuser between the lens and CCD is that the spacing between these two is very critical. Any change to that distance will degrade the image quality, so focusing with the primary mirror is really the only way to go. Mirror shift is minimal with such a wide field of view (and the 5x amplification factor of the secondary mirror removed), so with a fine focuser on the primary, precise focus is no problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2008, 02:40 PM
kartyal kartyal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
kartyal is on a distinguished road
Default Hyperstar with microfocuser?

Scott,

Thank you for your reply. So with focusing via the primary mirror, this means that with Hyperstar, you leave the primary mirror unlocked all the time?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-14-2008, 01:31 PM
kartyal kartyal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
kartyal is on a distinguished road
Default More Hyperstar questions

In addition to my previous unanswered question, would adding a filter wheel between the hyperstar lens and the camera cause the same problems as with the microfocuser?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-16-2008, 06:49 AM
Kevin Kevin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 40
Kevin is on a distinguished road
Default

Just like the Micro Foucser the spacing of CCD is the most important part. People do use filter wheels for Hyperstar but they are already built into the CCD camera.
__________________
My CCD Imaging System:
Starizona C-8 Hyperstar 3 w/filter adapter
Celestron Nexstar 8 GPS
Orion Starshoot II CCD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-18-2008, 12:08 PM
Scott Tucker's Avatar
Scott Tucker Scott Tucker is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 44
Scott Tucker is on a distinguished road
Default

I assume you are using a Meade with a mirror lock? The mirror can be locked after focusing, but in my experience the focus can shift slightly when locking the mirror, so it might be best to leave the mirror unlocked. You can refocus on each new target if necessary, which argues for an autofocuser. Really depends on how your scope reacts to having the mirror locked.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Copyright 2000-2011 Starizona - 5757 N. Oracle Rd., Suite 103, Tucson, AZ 85704 - 520-292-5010
www.starizona.com